Twitter, I Love You. You Ain’t Bringin Me Down.

I joined twitter 3 years ago. And you know what, it’s changed my life. 

I used to spend so much money on magazines and newspapers, I’d buy the monthly women’s magazines such as Elle, Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire etc, the weekly ones like Look, Grazia and More! Then the trashy celeb ones like Closer, Reveal, OK!, the list could go on (there was also the fortnightly soap magazines, I am obsessed). And this was every week/month without fail! I love celeb gossip but this was a ridiculous amount of money to be spending on feeding my habit! Anyway I joined twitter and after a few months I discovered how I had MUCH quicker access to any celebrity scandal, and I also discovered fashion blogs. Suddenly, there was no need to buy all of these magazines anymore. So why I love twitter #1, it has saved me shit loads of money.

Now for #2. I was updating my CV just today and I put under my interests how keen I am in regards to keeping up with current affairs. It’s really true. This could very well have come with age, but more and more frequently I find myself participating in arguments and debates in university about political affairs etc, using information I have accessed solely through twitter. And I have whooped a few arses to be fair. Has it made me more intelligent, as such? I’m pretty sure it has. I’m quite sure I wouldn’t know a lot of what I do about our country if it weren’t for following news sites and papers through twitter, and the information being so readily available to me. 

The best part about twitter for me is that I follow very few people I know in real life on it. These select few are those who I either love or whose tweets I find highly entertaining. What I don’t see there, like I do over on another social networking site, are morons who can’t spell, girls I went to school with (who I couldn’t stand then) bragging about their perfect little lives, which I hope are very far from, and then the rest of my Facebook friends only ever talk about ‘getting on it’, whatever on earth that means. I sound like a snob here, I’m not, I’m just trying to articulate my feelings that Facebook users stagnate, it appears. I’ve applied for jobs and work experience placements I’ve found through twitter, it’s almost as though it’s a land of opportunity in comparison. 

I love twitter; I love reading what people have to say about an exciting episode of television, I love the banter when a celeb scandal comes out. It makes me feel like part of a community, however tragic that sounds!

Leave a Reply

